Sack the board, sack the board, sack the board…

Nicely written.

The World Turned Upside Down

stbI got my hands on my first Newcastle season ticket at the age of 10. My first hero was Imre Varadi, despite his habit of missing nine out of ten chances. What really sucked me in, though, wasn’t the pretty mediocre fare being offered on the pitch but the history of the club. I lay on my bed for hours on end reading great tomes by the likes of John Gibson, memorising the names and exploits of Toon greats like Hughie Gallacher, Jackie Milburn, Frank Brennan and George Robledo. Then something magical happened. I can remember very clearly the minute I found out that Kevin Keegan had signed for Newcastle. I was delivering the Chronicle on my newspaper round in Morpeth and there it was, in black and white. I felt dizzy. When Keegan finally made his debut, after a seemingly endless summer, I was standing in the Gallowgate on…

View original post 1,443 more words

Leave a Reply

